Faculty of Environment

People

Member

Research Area

Dr Catherine Bale
School of Earth and Environment
School of Chemical and Process Engineering
Tel: +44(0) 113 34 38250

Email: c.s.e.bale@leeds.ac.uk

Personal web page

Senior Research Fellow working across the disciplines of engineering and environmental social science. Interested in the delivery of national energy policy at the local level and the role of local authorities in strategic energy planning.

David Bell
School of Geography
Tel: +44(0) 113 34 37995

Email: d.j.bell@leeds.ac.uk 

Personal web page

Senior Lecturer in Critical Human Geography and Head of School of Geography.

The role of culture and of cultural planning in addressing sustainability issues in cities; also interest in media representations of urban ecological crisis and imaginings of future cities.

Dr Paul Chatterton
School of Geography
Tel: +44(0) 113 34 36636

Email: p.chatterton@leeds.ac.uk 

Personal web page

Reader in Cities and Social Change

Research focuses on novel and disruptive policy and practice for embedding radical pathways to low carbon sustainability in urban areas, with particular expertise in embedding low impact forms of living and participatory approaches to urban regeneration and citizen engagement. Experience in the UK internationally particularly Northern Europe and Latin America.

 

Dr Martin Dallimer
School of Earth and Environment
Tel: +44 (0)113 3433036

Email: m.dallimer@leeds.ac.uk

www.see.leeds.ac.uk/people/m.dallimer

 

Lecturer in Environmental Change

Urban green infrastructure, parks and green spaces and the multi-functional benefits (ecosystem services) they provide for city dwellers, including health and well-being benefits, urban agriculture, recreation and biodiversity conservation. Assessing the values (both economic and non-monetary) attributable to urban green spaces, and the biodiversity they contain.  

Ayona Datta
School of Geography
Tel: +44(0) 113 34 33362

Email: a.datta@leeds.ac.uk 

Personal web page

Research focuses on the gendered processes of citizenship and belonging and the gendered politics of urban renewal and urbanization across the global north and south

Prof Suraje Dessai 
School of Earth and Environment
Tel: +44(0) 113 34 30116

Email: s.dessai@leeds.ac.uk

Personal web page

Professor of Climate Change Adaptation

Prof Andy Dougill
School of Earth and Environment
Tel: +44 (0)113 343 6837

Email: a.j.dougill@leeds.ac.uk

Personal web page

Professor of Environmental Sustainability & Dean of Faculty of Environment.

Research expertise from both Africa & UK on developing community-led environmental monitoring programmes for community empowerment. Experience assessing urban agriculture initiatives and wildlife gardening opportunities for urban biodiversity programmes.

Barbara Evans
School of Civil Engineering
Tel: +44 (0)113 343 1990 

Email: b.e.evans@leeds.ac.uk

Personal web page

Water and wastewater engineering and water supply and sanitation in developing countries.

Dr Tim Foxon
School of Earth and Environment
Tel: +44(0) 113 34 37910 

Email: t.j.foxon@leeds.ac.uk

Personal web page

Reader in Sustainability & Innovation

Dr Sara Gonzalez
School of Geography
Tel: +44(0) 113 34 33326

Email: s.gonzalez@leeds.ac.uk 

Personal web page

Interested in how our cities are becoming spaces for the expansion of neoliberalism and how ideas and policies of neoliberal urbanism emerge, travel and mutate at different spatial scales. Increasingly I am also focusing on resistance to these processes by social movements and community groups in Europe and Latin America.

Prof Andrew Gouldson (visiting)
School of Earth and Environment
Tel: +44 (0) 113 343 6417

Email: a.gouldson@leeds.ac.uk

Personal web page

Design, delivery and impacts of different forms of environmental policy, planning and regulation including environmental governance, environmental corporate responsibility, economic development and environmental justice.

Dr Stephen Hall
School of Earth and Environment
Tel: +44(0) 113 34 36731

Email: s.hall@leeds.ac.uk

Personal web page

Interested in the role of cities and regions in delivering infrastructures compatible with low carbon futures.

Dr Karen Lucas
Institute for Transport Studies
Tel: +44(0) 113 34 38086

Email: k.lucas@leeds.ac.uk

Personal web page

Director of Research & Innovation

My main research interest is in understanding the social consequences of unequal mobility in different geographical and spatial contexts.

 

Prof Greg Marsden
Institute for Transport Studies
Tel: +44(0) 113 34 35358

Email: g.r.marsden@its.leeds.ac.uk

Personal web page

Professor of Transport Governance
Institute Director

Mrs Faye McAnulla
School of Earth & Environment
Tel: +44(0)113 34 31980

Email: f.e.mcanulla@leeds.ac.uk

Personal web page

Research & Development Manager, Sustainable Cities
The role of cities in climate change mitigation, including in terms of international policy on climate change and cities, the economics of climate change at a city level and the development of low carbon economies.  Experience both within the UK and internationally, particularly South America, India and the Middle East.

Dr Natasha Merat
Institute for Transport Studies
Tel: +44(0) 113 34 36614

Email: n.merat@its.leeds.ac.uk

Personal web page

Associate Professor & Research Group Leader for Safety & Technology

Experienced researcher in the human factors of automated and driverless cars.  Currently involved in the European project Citymobil2 (see http://www.citymobil2.eu/en/), investigating the interaction of pedestrians and cyclists with automated road transport systems, a form of driverless car.  

Dr Gordon Mitchell
School of Geography
Tel: +44 (0)113 343 6721

Email: g.mitchell@leeds.ac.uk

Personal web page

Interests in environmental appraisal, planning and policy for sustainable urban development and natural resource management. Experience  in water resources and quality, air quality, energy, environmental inequality, and integrated urban sustainability modelling.

Dr Alice Owen
School of Earth & Environment
Tel: +44(0) 113 34 36411

Email: a.m.owen@leeds.ac.uk

Personal web page

Lecturer: business sustainability & stakeholder engagement

Prof Paul Routledge
School of Geography
Tel: +44 (0)113 343 3311

Email: p.routledge@leeds.ac.uk

Personal web page

Research interests include critical geopolitics, climate change, social justice, civil society, the environment, and social movements. Long-standing research interests concerning development, environment and the practices of social movements in the Global South, particularly South Asia and Southeast Asia, and in the Global North.

Dr Alex Schafran
School of Geography
Tel: +44(0) 113 34 37383

Email: a.schafran@leeds.ac.uk  

Personal web page

Lecturer in Urban Geography.

Urban planner by training, with research focused on the contemporary restructuring and retrofitting of urban regions, with a particular emphasis on the changing dynamics of race, class and segregation across space and place. Current research includes work on the economic centrality of urbanization, housing politics and suburban retrofitting in the United States, the future of urban studies, and an urbanist’s take on the political economic future of Northern England.

Prof Simon Shepherd
Institute for Transport Studies
Tel: +44(0) 113 34 36616

Email: s.p.shepherd@its.leeds.ac.uk

Personal web page

Professor of Transport Modelling & Policy Design

Research interests include: Road pricing and network design problems; Traffic signal control; Strategic land use transport interaction models, network assignment modelling and mirco-simulation; Transport policy optimisation; System dynamics applications in transport.

 

Dr Dominick Spracklen
School of Earth and Environment
Tel: +44 (0)113 343 7488

Email: d.v.spracklen@leeds.ac.uk

Personal web page

Associate Professor; Biosphere, Aerosol & Climate

Dr Julia Steinberger
School of Earth & Environment
Tel: +44 (0)113 343 1631

Email: j.k.steinberger@leeds.ac.uk 

Personal web page

Associate Professor

Ecological economics, quantifying the current and historical linkages between resource use (energy and materials, greenhouse gas emissions) and socioeconomic parameters (economic and human wellbeing), and identifying alternative development pathways to guide the necessary transition to a low carbon society

Mr Andrew Sudmant
School of Earth & Environment

Email: a.sudmant@leeds.ac.uk

Personal web page

At the Climate Smart Cities team program mini-Stern review studies are conducted by consulting with regional development authorities, national and municipal governments and partner universities to identify cost-effective climate change mitigation measures in cities. With this work the Climate Smart Cities program not only explores the case for green growth but the opportunity for climate change mitigation policies to enhance energy security and public health, raise employment, stimulate investment and improve public finances.

James Tate
Institute for Transport Studies
Tel: +44(0) 113 34 36608

Email: j.e.tate@its.leeds.ac.uk_

Personal web page

Transport and the Environment. Better understanding the on-road vehicle fleet and its fuel consumption and emission characteristics; Developing and demonstrating methods to provide more robust assessments of vehicle emission for schemes and Cities. Road transport emissions advisor for Transport for London.

Dr Martin Tillotson
Director of Industrial Research for water@leeds
School of Civil Engineering
Tel: +44 (0)113 343 2295

Email: m.r.tillotson@leeds.ac.uk

Personal web page

Developing and quantifying impact in the industrial sector and attracting and diversifying funding sources.

Dr Paul Upham
School of Earth & Environment

Email: p.upham@leeds.ac.uk

Personal web page

Senior University Research Fellow

I work on the engagement of civil society actors in energy technology RD&D, drawing on concepts from psychology, science and technology studies, innovation studies and other literatures.

Dr Zia Wadud
Institute for Transport Studies
Tel: +44(0) 113 34 36610 (ITS); +44 (0)113 34 37733 (CIER)

Email: z.wadud@leeds.ac.uk

Personal web page

Key research interests include: transportation, energy and environment; econometric modelling (energy/transport); tradable permits; developing countries; aviation

 

Dr Louise Walker
School of Geography
Tel: +44 (0) 113 34 31576

Email: l.walker@leeds.ac.uk

Research Officer/ Innovation Manager.

Personal web page

A multi-disciplinary environmental scientist with over ten years’ experience of water management research in the UK and Europe. Main interests are in water sensitive urban design and in developing resilience to an uncertain future by supporting more sustainable decision making; developing good communication between stakeholders, and through effective public engagement.